Terrify Yourself

Which is exactly what I’m doing. Quitting my job and buying this one way ticket is just about the most terrifying thing I have ever done. But doing it is the only way to ensure I succeed. There is no room for failure. Once I’m there, far for the entrapments of daily life, there will be nothing else to do but survive and make it work. I know that this is what I want to do, and I’m going to go out and do it, regardless of what anyone says.

This article (courtesy of my friend, Ann) sums it up pretty nicely. That fear, of the unknown, of failure, of anything and everything can be harnessed to work for you. To push you onward to greater things, things you would not have achieved otherwise. I suppose that is true in some ways. But it’s always comforting to know that should things really not work out the way you had intended (note that that I say “the way you had intended” and not “the way you planned” – it’s impossible to plan, there being too many variables and unknowns to account for), you have people to fall back on. For this, I am eternally grateful to my family, because I know that no matter how badly I screw up, they’ll be there.

I guess it’s always important to give thanks for the things in life we have, even as we chase our dreams with a relentless fury and passion that hopefully, come to fruition in the form of amazing things.

20131008-231233.jpg

Inle Lake, Burma, August 2013

Leave a Reply

