Packing List Post!

It’s 4 weeks to D(eparture)-day and I am super excited, but am also increasingly being struck by pre-departure jitters. One of the things I’ve started doing is working on putting together a packing list. I haven’t even thought about what clothes to bring, and it already feels too long. Hopefully, I don’t end up with a giant 17kg backpack like I did on my virgin backpacking trip around Europe. That was…quite disastrous, even though I didn’t even realize I was lugging around a third of my body weight on my back until I was stopped at immigration in Warsaw.

17kg backpack with sneakers dangling off it for perspective (also because the sneakers didn’t fit into the pack)
Verona, Italy, June 2011

Unfortunately, my poor backpack didn’t manage to withstand the physical torture I put it through, and this pack was laid to rest after I returned from Europe.

This time, I’m a little wiser (I hope). Even though my pack (pictures soon to come!) can hold a massive 62 litres, I’m hoping I will not ever use that much space and stick with a much more manageable 40-45 litres instead. I wanted to get the 55 litre version of this, but they didn’t have them in my size. I should have gotten a smaller pack anyway, but I suppose time will tell. In any case, suggestions as to what I should (or should not) bring on my trip are most welcome! Do leave a comment if you have any thoughts!

In the meanwhile, back to the packing list!

Leave a Reply

