Buenos Días en Buenos Aires II

Written 10 Dec 2013

Yes, I know, it’s been a while since Montevideo…but I’ve been lazy, and besides, I needed to take full advantage of the gloriously sunny days in Buenos Aires! Well, actually, I wasn’t taking advantage of the wonderful weather as much as I should have because I fell sick. But I’ll get to that in a moment. Continuing where I left off. Sunday! Every Sunday, there is a flea market/ fair or sorts in San Telmo, and having nothing better to do, I decided to drop by.

20131230-191629.jpg

Flea market at San Telmo
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

I was also told that there would be tango performances in the streets of San Telmo and in La Boca as well, so I figured it would be pretty cool to check it out. It was pretty interesting, with lots of people milling about and lots of vendors selling anything and everything, and street performers – bands, tango dancers, etc.

Awesome street band Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Awesome street band
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Tango in the streets Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Tango in the streets
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Awesome street band part II Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Awesome street band part II
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Street artists Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Street artists
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Cute old lady joins in on the festivities Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Cute old lady joins in on the festivities
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

I spent a nice few hours wandering about there and ended up at a random park where I met David, a porteño who hadn’t spent the last 15years in Buenos Aires. After chatting for a bit, we headed down to La Caminito en La Boca, a quaint little section of La Boca that has all these colourful houses!

Such lovely colours Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Such lovely colours
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Absolutely adorable. La Boca is next to the river (?),

View of the river at La Boca Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

View of the river at La Boca
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

so apparently, the reason why the houses are a hundred million different colours at once is because they used to paint boats in La Boca, and used whatever pain that was left over to paint their houses. Hence, the colourful houses. I don’t know to what extent this is true, but the houses do make for a lovely sight.

I could look at these houses all day Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

I could look at these houses all day
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Absolutely adorable Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Absolutely adorable
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

David decided to show me around some other parts of Buenos Aires, like the Palermo area, near the Planetarium, where there was a huge, open-air (free) concert going on. The whole place was full of people and I loved the vibe there!

Crazy awesome vibe Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Crazy awesome vibe
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

We also passed by a huge mosque, which I didn’t been know existed. According to David, the building of the mosque increased the immigration of Muslims into Buenos Aires, and now Buenos Aires has a significant Muslim population. Yay for integration!

Huge mosque in Buenos Aires Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Huge mosque in Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Then it was time to call it a night (:

Sunset at 9pm Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Sunset at 9pm
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

The start of the new week marked the start of my Spanish lessons at El Pasaje Spanish School. One week intensive course, 4 hours daily. It was super intense, but also pretty fun, and I quite enjoyed going for lessons and meeting my lovely classmates!

L-R: Jeen, Linda, Michelle, the teacher Anahi, Alan, Ina, Timo, Christina and me Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

L-R: Jeen, Linda, Michelle, the teacher Anahi, Alan, Ina, Timo, Christina and me
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

The whole week was pretty low key, and as I mentioned, I fell terribly ill. I was running a fever on Sunday night, but I took some medication and felt better on Monday. Tuesday was when my body decided to completely give up on me – I had a fever, lost my voice and generally felt like death. I slept most of Tuesday away, and by Wednesday I was feeling much better. So for those of you who are wondering, I am almost 100% cured now (:

Nothing much else happened, until the weekend! On Friday, Juan brought me to a neigbourhood called Devoto – about an hour outside the main city centre. Pretty cool neighbourhood, but the main attraction was an old train carriage that had been converted into a restaurant!

Really pretty wooden carriage Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Really pretty wooden carriage
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Fancy inside of the train carriage Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Fancy inside of the train carriage
Buenos Aires, Argentina, December 2013

Super cool stuff, and it was a fun dinner with some yummy fish for dinner! Very satisfying (unlike Juan’s ice cream for dessert heh)! The rest of the weekend perhaps deserves its own post so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

