2017 Whoa~

Well, that was unexpected! 2017 kinda just crept up on me (well, that’s not true but it also kinda is) and here we are (again) at the start of another year!

Madness.

I’m writing a post today (after aeons) in the hopes of tricking myself into writing more regularly in the upcoming year, but I doubt that will happen. Anyway, for lack of anything better to do, let’s have a look at 2016 and figure out what’s next for 2017!

2016 was a year of some incredible highs and some really awful lows, but I guess it all balances out. It got off to a great start (Nicaragua), then became progressively worse from there a period of horrible, awful, terrible yuck-ness (</3), and then life moved on and things got progressively better (Panama) and then kinda crappy again, and then pretty cool again (Singapore) and then it kinda went a bit south from there, but all in all…it’s been decent.

Greatest lessons of the year
– I’m not an ice queen
– Friends make things more bearable (even better if they have wine)
– Time heals all wounds
– Forgiving is easy, forgetting may be impossible

Whatever it is, I (and you, if you are reading this) have made it through the 525,600 minutes of 2016 and we (hopefully) another 525,600 more minutes to do with what we will.

[I’ve run out of steam, so let me try to wrap this out without being too cheesy.]

Things got weird in 2016, but here’s hoping 2017 will be kind to us all. And instead of wishing you all the happiness, and all the prosperity, and all the wonderful things in life, I’d like to wish you enough.

Happy new year (:



I Wish You Enough
(From a story by Bob Perks)

I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright.
I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun more.
I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive.
I wish you enough pain so that the smallest joys in life appear much bigger.
I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.
I wish you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.
I wish you enough hellos to get you through the final good-bye.

2 thoughts on “2017 Whoa~

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My blog site is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

