So Much Time, So Little To Do!

You’re probably all thinking that I’ve gotten that completely wrong – it should be So Much To Do, So Little Time, but nope. I’m quite sure I have that right.

Maybe it’s because I don’t have an actual job – I do freelance work, which means I get to choose my hours and work only (kinda) when I want to. Maybe it’s because I don’t have kids – ha! sorry those of you who’ve willingly donated 18 years of your life to another human being. Or maybe it’s because I choose to.

Now, I know I’m extremely privileged to be able to even choose the live I’ve chosen for myself. I do not have student loans to pay off, ailing parents to provide for, or any other financial commitments to worry about. But on the other hand, I’ve also chosen to live a relatively frugal life, one that doesn’t appeal to many people, I’m sure. People always say they envy my life, and the freedom I have, and that I’m so lucky to be able to travel. I don’t deny that luck has a part to play in it, but that doesn’t mean my choice is without sacrifice either.

I don’t own any Kate Spade wallets. My wallet is a recycled milk carton.

While you buy yourself a new pair of shoes with every paycheck, I’ve been wearing the same knock-off TOMs I got in Costa Rica for $5 for the last 4 months.

You spend $50 on a meal, I’m pleased as punch if I can finish lunch for less than $5.

You go on luxury weekend getaways, I stay at gritty hostels in “the bad part” of town (they aren’t actually).

And it’s not just monetary sacrifices I make. In the last 3 years, I’ve spent 5 months with my family. I’ve missed birthdays, weddings, milestones. I said bye to my niece as a 4 month old baby. When I came back, she was 2 years old and had a brand new baby sister.

So maybe you think I’m really lucky to travel the world and not have commitments, but it’s also a choice I have made that have required some sacrifices.

And yes, I have so much time, so little to do – but only because I choose to.

This has turned into a random rambly post. Oops. Tuesday afternoons are maybe not such a great time to write.

I leave for India in less than 36 hours. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

